WA Division of the Environment Institute of Australia & New Zealand (EIANZ) is pleased to present the second of its winter seminars for 2015

## Professional standards in flora and vegetation survey and assessment: How can we do it better?

Australia and New Zealand Inc.

Guest speaker: Dr Libby Mattiske, from Mattiske and Associates

A Panel Discussion will follow Dr Mattiske's presentation with:

Dr Paul Vogel, Chairperson, Environmental Protection Authority;

Mr Matt Warnock, Native Vegetation Clearing, Department of Environmental Regulation;

Ms Kellil McCreery, Consulting Botanist, One Tree Botanical;

Prof Ladislav Mucina, Iluka Chair in Vegetation Science and Biogeography, UWA

Dr. Mattiske will provide an overview of the challenges and potential opportunities faced by professional botanists and ecologists in Western Australia as they work with industry, developers, government and the community.

Leading into the Panel Discussion, Dr Vogel will provide a brief commentary on the EPA's expectations for flora and vegetation survey, and Matt Warnock will provide an introduction to the Department's role in regard to vegetation assessment and protection.

The panel will provide the opportunity for participants to raise matters related to all aspects of policy and practice.

Date: Tuesday 21<sup>st</sup> July 2015.

Time: 5:30pm to 6:45pm, followed by networking drinks and nibbles.

Venue: Atrium Theatrette- Level 4, 168 St Georges Terrace, Perth

RSVP: <a href="http://www.eianz.org/?command=login">http://www.eianz.org/?command=login</a>

## **About Dr Libby Mattiske**

Libby Mattiske, BSc (Hons), PhD, has worked in area of botany and plant ecology in Western Australia for nearly forty years and is a Managing Director and Principal Ecologist at Mattiske Consulting Ptd Ltd. Her work covers all regions of the state and involves a range of clients from government, mining, industry and the private sectors.

Libby is a former member of Deputy Chairman and member of the Western Australian Environmental Protection Authority and Deputy Chairman and member of the Western Australian National Parks and Nature Conservation Authority.